About MLL


During the summer of 1998, Jake “Body By Jake” Steinfeld was inspired to start a professional outdoor lacrosse league after reading a magazine article about the growth of the sport of lacrosse. Steinfeld sought out a contributor to the article, Owner and President of Warrior Lacrosse Dave Morrow, a leading lacrosse equipment manufacturer, to discuss formation of such a league.
In February 1999 Steinfeld and Morrow joined forces with Steinfeld’s friend and business associate Tim Robertson, Chairman of Bay Shore Enterprises and former CEO of the Family Channel, to form Major League Lacrosse, LLC, a Virginia limited liability company. In 2003, New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. came on board as a Founding Member of Major League Lacrosse, as well as an Anchor Level League Sponsor.
Major League Lacrosse began play in 2001 to capitalize on the growing demand for world-class field lacrosse driven by dramatic growth in the U.S. lacrosse market. The MLL was praised and heralded for its on-field play, regarded as the best ever seen. With a year-on-year attendance increase, Major League Lacrosse has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports.


MLL is comprised of eight teams across the US and Canada. The Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks (formerly Baltimore and Washington), New York Lizards (formally Long Island) and Rochester Rattlers are original teams starting in 2001. The Denver Outlaws began play in 2006 as part of the League’s western expansion. The Hamilton Nationals (formerly Toronto) joined MLL in 2009 as the League’s first international team. The Charlotte Hounds and Ohio Machine began play in 2012 as a part of the League's expansion initiative to have 16 teams in the next decade. Continuing the expansion, the Florida Launch began play in 2014. 

Current teams include:

Boston Cannons                                                    Florida Launch
Charlotte Hounds                                                   New York Lizards
Chesapeake Bayhawks                                         Ohio Machine
Denver Outlaws                                                     Rochester Rattlers


Major League Lacrosse boasts the best 230 lacrosse players in the world. They hail from some of the top academic institutions, including Princeton, Johns Hopkins, Syracuse, Duke, and Virginia. MLL icons include Casey Powell, Jesse Hubbard, John Grant Jr., Mark Millon, Kyle Harrison and Brodie Merrill.

The League also features current stars in lacrosse such as Paul Rabil, Ned Crotty, Brendan Mundorf, Rob Pannell, Miles Thompson, Justin Ward, Steele Stanwick, Jeremy Sieverts and Matt Danowski.


The 2015 Major League Lacrosse season consists of a total of 56 regular season games running from April to August with the following league-run special events: The Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft (January 23), MLL All-Star Weekend (June 12), and the MLL Championship Game (August 8). The fifteenth season of MLL action begins April 12, 2015.


Major League Lacrosse has implemented some innovative dynamics to the traditional game of field lacrosse that bring the sport into the next millennium. MLL rule changes include the addition of a two-point goal line located 16 yards from each goal and a 60-second shot clock.


Warrior Lacrosse, Coke-Zero.


Brine, Cascade, POWERADE, Great Atlantic Lacrosse Company, Ford and Body by Jake Global.


A full range of integrated sponsorship packages are available. Partnerships can include league/team category exclusivity, special events rights, corporate branding on player uniforms, national TV commercial units and in-game TV features, field signage, web site banners, tickets/hospitality, game footage, photo usages, player appearances, customized activation, and cross-promotional programs.


In addition to live streaming coverage of all 56 regular season games on ESPN3, Major League Lacrosse will partner with major regional sports networks to televise the 2015 MLL season nationally. CBS Sports Network will be the exclusive television provider of the All-Star, Semifinals and Championship Game. 

Major League Lacrosse broadcast syndication partners currently consist of:

-              Fox Sports Networks Ohio

-              Fox Sports Networks South

-              Fox Sports Networks Florida

-              Fox Sports Networks Arizona

-              Fox Sports Networks Midwest

-              Fox Sports Networks San Diego

-              Fox Sports Networks Southwest Plus

-              Fox Sports Networks Prime Ticket

-              Comcast SportsNet New England

-              Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic

-              Comcast SportsNet Chicago

-              The Comcast Network Mid-Atlantic

-              The Comcast Network Philadelphia

-              Time Warner Cable New York

-              Time Warner Cable Wisconsin

-              MSG Network

-              AltitudeTV

Please visit your local MLL team for more information on in market television coverage.



ESPN3 will deliver all 56 MLL regular season games this year, including 28 games that are exclusively available on ESPN3. ESPN3 is ESPN's live multi-screen sports network, a destination that delivers thousands of exclusive sports events annually.  It is accessible online at, on smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app and streamed on televisions through Amazon Fire TV and Fire TV Stick, Apple TV, Chromecast, Roku, Xbox 360 and Xbox One. The network is currently available to more than 99 million homes at no additional cost to fans who receive their high-speed Internet connection or video subscription from an affiliated service provider.  The network is also available at no cost to approximately 21 million U.S. college students and U.S.-based military personnel via computers, smartphones and tablets connected to on-campus educational and on-base military broadband and Wi-Fi networks.

Apr Sat 23
5:00 PM ET
  AT   More Info
Apr Sat 23
5:00 PM ET
  AT   More Info
Apr Sat 23
7:00 PM ET
  AT   More Info
Apr Sat 23
7:30 PM ET
  AT   More Info
Apr Fri 29
7:30 PM ET
  AT   More Info
Apr Sat 30
7:00 PM ET
  AT   More Info
View Complete Schedule