navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

A Look Back: 12 years of All-Star Games

March 18, 2016
The 2014 Major League Lacrosse season celebrates 14 years of professional outdoor lacrosse. In the 14 MLL seasons, we have witnessed the meeting of some of the world’s best lacrosse talent competing in some of the best and most entertaining lacrosse games ever played—the Major League Lacrosse All-Star Games. Over the past 14 seasons, 13 All-Star Games have been played, with 2004 being the only season not featuring the game.

With the 2014 MLL All-Star Game right around the corner, taking place on June 26 at Historic Harvard Stadium, let’s take a look at the previous 13 All-Star Games, and where they fall in MLL history. And if you have not got your tickets for the game yet, you can find them HERE.

In the 2014 All-Star Game, MLL will host Team USA as they prepare for the FIL World Championship. Pitting the US National Team against the MLL All-Stars has happened twice before—in advance of the 2010 and 2006 World Championships. The result of both of these games were victories for Team USA, a preview of the success they would have at the world games (gold in 2010 and silver in 2006). With Team USA composed of some of MLL’s best, it will be interesting to see if history, once again, repeats itself in the 2014 MLL All-Star Game.

Earlier All-Star Games determined teams based on the league conferences, Eastern and Western, as well as National and American, composed of both current and defunct teams. The 2001-2003 ASGs featured the National Conference versus the American Conference, with the National winning in all three years. In 2007 and 2008, the Eastern Conference and Western Conference battled it out, with Eastern winning in 2007 and Western winning in 2008.

Starting in 2005, MLL introduced the idea of splitting up the best players based on how long they had played in the league. The teams became the “Young Gun All-Stars” and the “Old School All-Stars”—how do the up-and-coming players compare to the seasoned veterans. In two out of three years (2009 and 2012), the Old School All-Stars proved they had the advantage, and that experience in the league only improved talent. However, in 2005, the Young Gun All-Stars (many who would later become the Old School stars) were able to take on the Old School players, and squeeze out a tight win in overtime.

In 2011, MLL held the “Ultimate MLL Fan Fantasy” Contest for the first time. The winners of the contest were named honorary captains and selected the two All-Star teams. The two teams, “Team Warrior” and “Team Authority” were evenly matched, with Team Warrior winning by a single goal. Once again, in 2013, the All-Star teams were determined by the “Ultimate MLL Fan Fantasy” Contest, dividing the players into “Team Eclipse” and “Team Supernova.” Supernova was victorious, beating Eclipse 24-15.

Notable All-Star Game Moments

With 13 years of MLL All-Star Game action, there have been many memorable moments. Check out some notable All-Star Game Moments:

·         The 2013 Fastest Shot Competition was won by Mike Sawyer (Charlotte) with 114 mph, and set a new world record (previously set by Paul Rabil at 111 mph during the 2010 All-Star Game).

·         In 2013, Matt Striebel (New York) set a Major League Lacrosse record by being selected to his 9 th career All-Star Game.

·         The 2012 All-Star Game was held at Florida Atlantic University’s Stadium, and ultimately led to the expansion of the Florida Launch.

·         In 2011, Michael Kimmel (Chesapeake) set an All-Star Game record by tallying 9 points (5 G, 3 2ptG, 1 A).

·         The 2010 All-Star Game, held at Harvard Stadium in Cambridge, Mass., had the highest All-Star Game attendance to date with 11,771 attendees.

·         In 2009, Brian Langtry set an All-Star Game record (later tied by Michael Kimmel) with 3 2ptG for the Old School All-Stars.

·         The crowd went wild in Denver during the Freestyle Competition of the 2008 All-Star Game when Chazz Woodson (Florida) jumped over the heads of two standing kids, making an insane shot.

·         The 2005 All-Star Game featured the first overtime minutes. The winning goal of the first “Young Guns versus Old Schoolers” game was shot by Walid Hajj 7:10 into the over time.

The 2014 All-Star Game will feature some of the most explosive MLL players of all time, so we can only imagine what memorable moments will be created this year.

If you don’t have your tickets for the 2014 MLL All-Star Game yet, be sure to check out the Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game page for all information regarding the event.