navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Amidon, Gabel, Robarge Honored with Weekly Awards

March 17, 2016

Contact:  Eric Rhew
Major League Lacrosse



BOSTON, Mass. (Monday, May 14, 2012)– Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Monday its weekly award winners for the week ending May 13, 2012, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. Charlotte Hounds midfielder Josh Amidon was named as the League’s Offensive Player of the Week while Rochester Rattlers goalkeeper Mike Gabel earned the Defensive Player of the Week award.

In addition, Denver Outlaws midfielder/face-off specialist Stephen Robarge was named as the first recipient of the Cascade Rookie of the Week award for the 2012 season.  

Amidon led the Hounds to the first win in the team’s history with an 18-15 victory over the Ohio Machine on Saturday night at American Legion Memorial Stadium. Named as the Bud Light MLL Player of the Game, he scored three goals, including a two-point marker, with two assists.

Amidon scored two of his goals during a 6-1 Charlotte run that gave the Hounds a 9-6 lead with 1:58 left in the second quarter. He also tallied his two-point goal during a five-point run for the Hounds that extended their lead to 14-9 midway through the third quarter.

With eight points in three games, Amidon is tied for second on the team and is one of three Charlotte players with a two-point goal this season.

Meanwhile, Gabel anchored a Rochester defense that limited Chesapeake to a season-low six goals en route to a 12-8 victory at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on Saturday night. Gabel made a season-high 27 saves, including 17 in the second half, as the Rattlers earned their first win of the season.

The 27 saves by Gabel are the most by an MLL goalkeeper this season and the most since former Philadelphia Barrage goalkeeper Brian Dougherty had 28 saves on July 3, 2008.

Gabel, who made his first start of the season against the Bayhawks on Saturday night, has posted a 6.40 goals against average while stopping 78.4 per cent of the shots he has faced.

Making his Major League Lacrosse debut on Saturday night, Robarge won 17 of 30 face-offs and recorded four ground balls as the Outlaws won their third straight game, a 19-11 victory over the Long Island Lizards at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Robarge, who played his college lacrosse at VMI, was the Outlaws’ sixth-round selection in the 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft. He was the 44th player taken in the draft.

The fourth week of the 2012 MLL season will feature four games. On Friday morning, the Hamilton Nationals will host the Chesapeake Bayhawks in their 2012 home opener. On Saturday evening, the Hounds will welcome Long Island to Charlotte while the Ohio Machine makes its home debut against Rochester. In addition, Denver will host the defending MLL champion Boston Cannons on Saturday night.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 season commenced on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at  www.majorleaguelacrosse.comFacebook or  Twitter.