navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Lizards lead way on US World Championship roster

January 8, 2018
Sparks, Md. (January 7, 2018) - U.S. national team head coach John Danowski has named the 23-player travel roster that will represent the United States in the Federation of International Lacrosse Men's World Championship July 12-21 in Netanya, Israel.
The roster was selected from the 48-member U.S. men's national team after the Team USA Spring Premiere on Saturday at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla. That was the seventh evaluation weekend for the players since Danowski was named the head coach in late 2015, including four events since July.
"I have been blown away by their commitment to this process, probably highlighted by this weekend where travel was a mess," Danowski said. "Guys were getting here at three in the morning, flights were being changed, guys got up at three in the morning to take a train to Baltimore to fly here and never complained, not once. It just shows they love the game and they love being a part of this."
The roster includes eight veterans from the 2014 world championship team that won a silver medal in Denver — Jesse Bernhardt, Ned Crotty, Tucker Durkin, Greg Gurenlian, Kyle Hartzell, Marcus Holman, Rob Pannell and Paul Rabil. Durkin (defense), Pannell (attack) and Rabil (midfield) were named to the all-world team in 2014 and named the most outstanding player at their respective positions.
It's the third world championship roster for Crotty and Rabil, who starred in leading the U.S. to the gold in 2010. Crotty scored the game-tying and go-ahead goals in the gold medal victory over Canada, and Rabil was named the MVP of the event.
The roster includes players from 13 different colleges, led by Maryland with five selections. Duke (three), Johns Hopkins (three), Hofstra (two) and Syracuse (two) had multiple selections as well. Denver senior Trevor Baptiste was the lone current collegian named to the roster.
"We've thoroughly enjoyed all seven evaluative weekends, but now going forward we get to coach the team," Danowski said. "We haven't really coached them yet as much as we've provided structure and let them be themselves. Now it's time to dig deeper into the team dynamic and place them in situations to be successful and to ask them to be accountable to one another. The process has taken another step, and to me, that's the most exciting part of this in working with these really high-end accomplished athletes." 
The team will have a final training weekend in late June before heading to Israel in early July for the world championship.
The travel roster for the world championship:

Name  Position  MLL Team
Trevor Baptiste   FO   None 
Jake Bernhardt   SSDM   Ohio 
Jesse Bernhardt   D   Chesapeake 
Ryan Brown   A   Charlotte 
Ned Crotty   A/M   Dallas 
Matt Danowski   A/M   Chesapeake 
Steve  DeNapoli   SSDM   New York 
Tucker Durkin   D   Florida 
Michael  Ehrhardt   LSM   Charlotte 
Joe Fletcher   D   New York 
John Galloway   G   Dallas 
Greg Gurenlian   FO   New York 
Kyle Hartzell   LSM   New York 
John Haus   M   Charlotte 
Marcus Holman   A   Ohio 
Jack Kelly   G   Denver 
Rob Pannell   A   New York 
Paul Rabil   M   New York 
Tom Schreiber   M   Ohio 
Drew Snider   M   Denver 
Kevin Unterstein   SSDM   New York 
Joel White   LSM   Dallas 
Jordan Wolf   A   Dallas