navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Machine's Kyle Hartzell Renews Contract

March 18, 2016

Contact: Aly Morrissey
Major League Lacrosse

Ohio Machine Defenseman Kyle Hartzell Renews Contract

BOSTON, Mass. (Friday, February 17, 2012)– Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Friday that Ohio Machine defenseman Kyle Hartzell has renewed his contract for the 2012 MLL season. The Salisbury State University (SSU) standout joined the league in 2008 when he was claimed by the San Francisco Dragons. He is entering his first season with the expansion Ohio Machine, his fifth season with the league.

Hartzell played an integral role in winning the Steinfeld Trophy for the Chesapeake Bayhawks in 2010, and was the only defenseman in League history to win the MLL Championship Weekend MVP award. Last season, Hartzell played in 11 regular season games with the Bayhawks and scored three goals (2 two-pointers) and picked up 27 ground balls. Hartzell was also named to his first MLL All-Star Team and claimed this year’s Fastest Shot title during the Bud Light Skills Competition with a shot of 102 m.p.h.

Hartzell was acquired by the Ohio Machine in an off-season trade with the Bayhawks. In exchange for the defenseman, the Bayhawks received the Machine’s 7 th round selection (13 th overall) in the 2012 MLL Expansion Draft. With that selection, the Bayhawks drafted 2010 Warrior MLL Goalie of the Year Kip Turner. The Machine also received the 2 nd round selection (13 th overall) in the 2012 MLL Supplemental Draft from the Bayhawks, in which they drafted midfielder Joel Zalesky, formerly of the Nationals.

“Anytime you have the opportunity to trade for a MLL Championship Weekend MVP, you have to make that move,” said President and GM John Algie in October 2011 of the trade. “Kyle will inject an incredible amount of athleticism and versatility into the Machine defense.”

At SSU, Hartzell won two NCAA Division III National Championships, was selected First Team and Third Team All-American and All-League and named SSU 2007 Most Valuable Defenseman.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 season will commence on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at, Facebook or Twitter.