navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

MLL Legend Tim Goettelmann Retires

March 18, 2016

Contact: Aly Morrissey
Major League Lacrosse

All-Time MLL Goal Scorer Tim Goettelmann Retires from Major League Lacrosse
Goettelmann Played for the Long Island Lizards for 11 Years

LONG ISLAND, N.Y. (Friday, January 27, 2012) – The Long Island Lizards of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced Friday that MLL veteran Tim Goettelmann has retired after a decorated 11-year career, according to Lizards General Manager Casey Hilpert. The Loyola University graduate is the all-time Major League Lacrosse leader in games played (132) and goals scored (268).

“It really comes down to family,” Goettelmann said of his decision to retire before the 2012 season. He has three daughters, all under the age of four. “Also, the league is changing and new teams are coming in and I guess it’s time to pass on the baton and give it to the younger guys and watch them excel and succeed in the league like I have.”

Goettelmann joined the league in its inaugural year in 2001 and played his entire 11-year career with the Long Island Lizards. He won two MLL Championships with the team, one in 2001 and the other in 2003, the only MLL Championship game in league history to go into overtime.

In addition to Goettelmann’s on-field achievements, he is the two-time recipient of the MLL New Balance Sportsman of the Year Award, which he received in 2009 and 2010. The award recognizes a player who has consistently demonstrated sportsmanship through tenacity, determination and fair play over the course of the regular season. The Sportsman of the Year is also an individual involved in off-field charity work. Goettelman donated his entire MLL salary to the Pediatric Emergency Wing at the Cohen Children’s Medical Center of the North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System in 2010.

Goettelmann and his wife Lisa also founded “Monster’s Kids” in 2009 (which supports the Cohen Children’s Medical Center) along with their longtime friends Kristen and Dan Denihan of Manhasset. “I came up with the idea while reading the book Where the Wild Thing Are to my kids at bedtime,” said Goettelmann. “That night I realized how blessed I was to have two happy, healthy children, and I started to think about how I could help those who were not as fortunate.”

Lizards General Manager Casey Hilpert says there will be a tangible void left in the team with Goettelmann's departure. “It’s always difficult to say goodbye to a player of Tim’s caliber. We value the time he put into this organization and the outstanding efforts he displayed both on and off the field during his eleven years with us.  We wish him the best of luck moving forward.”  

About the Long Island Lizards

The Long Island Lizards of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) was founded in 2001 as one of the original six franchises. Long Island won the Steinfeld Cup in its inaugural season, 2001, as well as in 2003. The Long Island Lizards currently play all of their home games at Hofstra University Shuart Stadium.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 season will commence on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at, Facebook or Twitter.