navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

MLL Joins National Lacrosse Leaders for Strategic Planning

October 20, 2018
Pictured (left to right): MLL Commissioner Sandy Brown, Kathy Taylor, Jim Scherr, Michele DeJuliis, J.B. Clarke, Kristan Ash, Ed Calkins, Gene  McCabe, and Dave Rowan.

US Lacrosse (October 19, 2018) - Leaders of nine national lacrosse organizations met last week to share organizational priorities, strengthen relationships and expand collaboration on common objectives. The gathering, hosted by US Lacrosse at its national headquarters in Maryland, was the first of what will be semi-annual meetings of the sport’s most influential stakeholders. 

The group consisted of Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association ( IWLCA) President Kathy Taylor, Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association ( IMLCA) President J.B. Clarke, National Lacrosse League ( NLL) Chief Operating Officer Dave Rowan, Major League Lacrosse ( MLL) Commissioner Sandy Brown, United Women’s Lacrosse League ( UWLX) General Manager Kristan Ash, Women’s Professional Lacrosse League ( WPLL) Chief Executive Officer Michele DeJuliis, Federation of International Lacrosse ( FIL) Chief Executive Officer Jim Scherr, United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association ( USILA) President Gene McCabe, US Lacrosse Board Chair Ed Calkins, and US Lacrosse Chief Executive Officer Steve Stenersen.

“US Lacrosse is leading a movement of great collaboration among leaders and organizations in our sport,” said IWLCA President Kathy Taylor. “The IWLCA looks forward to more sharing of ideas and working together for the betterment of the game and all those who coach and play it.”

The day consisted of presentations from each attendee on organizational priorities and vision, observations and concerns on the state of the sport, and suggested strategies to advance the sport.  

Those in attendance agreed to increase cooperation on several shared priorities, including collaborative efforts to introduce the sport to more diverse communities, build the pool of youth coaches and officials, address cultural concerns related to alcohol and drug use in the sport, and support the goal of lacrosse inclusion in the 2028 Olympic Games.

“It was a very productive day on all fronts,” said MLL Commissioner Sandy Brown. “I’d like to thank Steve Stenersen for taking the initiative to get us all together. MLL looks forward to hosting our next gathering in Boston.”

For more information about MLL and the upcoming 2019 season: 

About Major League Lacrosse 
Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional field lacrosse league, is headquartered in Boston. MLL has led the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports since 2001. In the spring of 2018, MLL entered into new leadership for the first time in 17 years when it selected Alexander Brown as the Commissioner. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, and Ohio Machine.