navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Outlaws O’Hara Claims Fourth Steinfeld Trophy

August 23, 2018
BJ O’Hara took a cold Powerade bath Saturday night and it might have been the perfect remedy for withstanding another sweltry August evening in the Lowcountry of South Carolina. Of course, winning the Steinfeld Trophy again might have been tonic enough for the Denver Outlaws’ head coach who became the first coach to win three Major League Lacrosse (MLL) championships with the same franchise and a total of four overall.

As a result of the Outlaws’ 16-12 victory over the Dallas Rattlers at Charleston’s MUSC Health Stadium, O’Hara’s lacrosse resume now includes 13 championships: eight as a player, assistant coach and head coach at Hobart College, one as an assistant at Syracuse in 2002, his first MLL title in 2008 with the Rochester franchise and now three for the Outlaws. O’Hara began his coaching career at West Genesee H.S. in Camillus, N.Y., where he enjoyed a distinguished lacrosse and soccer career. He also coached lacrosse and women’s soccer at Dartmouth College from 1987-89 and stepped in to provide some necessary guidance for the Class C Jordan-Elbridge H.S. (N.Y.) boys’ lacrosse program in 2011.

Interestingly, O’Hara’s best regular seasons came as an assistant to Jim Stagnitta in 2012 and 2013 when the Outlaws went 11-3 and 14-0, yet lost in the playoffs in both seasons. As a head coach in MLL, O’Hara has a regular-season record of 81-67 (.547) but in the playoffs, his teams have won 9-of-13 (.692), including the last 9-of-10. During the three championship seasons, the Outlaws cumulative regular season record stands at just 25-17.

After celebrating with his team, O’Hara paid tribute to the organization, players and his assistants.

“It’s a great organization starting at the top. You know the Broncos are first-rate in athletics and we have that infrastructure and culture behind us,” O’Hara said. “We have great leaders on this team as four guys (Matt Bocklet, Eric Law, Mike Simon and Drew Snider) were on our first championship team in 2014.

“I can’t say enough about my coaching staff. Tony Seaman, he’s the only guy in the NCAA to take three different teams (Penn, Johns Hopkins and Towson) to the final four. John Grant Jr. is one of the all-time greats on the field and has become one of the all-time greats on the sideline,” O’Hara said. “Jon Cohen, I really believe, is one of the bright young minds in the game. I am in charge of the high-fives and hugs.”

O’Hara also seems to encourage his players to establish bonds during the season despite being together less than 48 hours on most weekends.

“This isn’t a weekend thing for us. We’re talking with each other seven days a week and we can’t wait to get back with each other. The camaraderie and brotherhood we have are second to none,” goaltender Dillon Ward said.

Steinfeld Trophy Winning Coaches
2001    John DeTommaso - Lizards
2002    Gary Gait - Bayhawks
2003    John DeTommaso - Lizards
2004    Sal LoCasio - Barrage
2005    Gary Gait - Bayhawks
2006    Tony Resch - Barrage
2007    Tony Resch - Barrage
2008    BJ O'Hara - Rattlers
2009    Dave Huntley - Nationals
2010    Brendan Kelly - Bayhawks
2011    Bill Daye - Cannons
2012    Dave Cottle - Bayhawks
2013    Dave Cottle - Bayhawks
2014    BJ O'Hara - Outlaws
2015    Joe Spallina - Lizards
2016    BJ O'Hara - Outlaws
2017    Bear Davis - Machine
2018    BJ O'Hara - Outlaws