navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Team USA announces 23-man Roster

March 18, 2016
US Lacrosse announced the 23-man roster that will compete in next month’s FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Denver, CO. Team USA is the defending World Champion, and has won 9-of-11 World Championships, dating back to the inaugural tournament in 1967. This year’s team, composed entirely of current MLL players, will be led by attackman Rob Pannell (New York), midfielder Paul Rabil (Boston) and goalie Jesse Schwartzman (Denver).

The 23-man roster concludes the third and final round of tryouts. 90 players were invited last August for a tryout camp at Goucher College. That pool was reduced to 52 men for training in January in Orlando, FL. In February, the roster was trimmed to 30 players, who attended training camp last week in Connecticut and competed against Team MLL in the MLL All-Star Game. Lizards Faceoff specialist Greg Gurenlian was added in June to bring that number to 31.

The group of 23 players features four returners from the gold medal winning 2010 team: Ned Crotty (New York), Brendan Mundorf (Chesapeake), Paul Rabil (Boston) and Max Seibald (New York).

The New York leads all teams with six players selected, followed by five from Chesapeake and four from Boston. Denver, Florida, Ohio and Rochester each have two players chosen. Charlotte did not have any Team USA selections.

Team USA features the MLL statistical leaders from nearly every category. Rabil, the dynamic midfielder, currently leads the league in points with 42, including a league-high 25 assists. He will be joined by Cannon’s teammate Kevin Buchanan, who is tied for the league lead in goals with 26.

Coach Richie Meade decided to keep two faceoff specialists on the roster, Boston’s Chris Eck and New York’s Greg Gurenlian. Eck leads the league with a .607 success rate, just ahead of Gurenlian’s .601 record. Talent at the faceoff X will be a strength and advantage for Team USA and help create extra possessions. Eck also has recorded a league-high 69 groundballs.

Reigning Warrior Defensive Player of the Year, Lee Zink, and Warrior Goalie of the Year, Jesse Schwartzman, will backstop Team USA.

Team USA will head to the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs July 6-9 for the final training camp. They play in the opening game of the World Championships in Denver July 10 th against Canada.

Follow Team USA as they prepare for the World Championships with the all-access series ‘Road to the Rockies’ and join the conversation on Twitter using #USAMLAX.

Breakdown by Team

New York (6): Ned Crotty, Rob Pannell, Max Seibald, Kyle Hartzell, Drew Adams, Greg Gurenlian

Chesapeake (5): Brendan Mundorf, Matt Abbott, Dan Burns, Jesse Bernhardt, Michael Evans

Boston (4): Kevin Buchanan, Paul Rabil, Mitch Belisle, Chris Eck

Denver (2): Lee Zink, Jesse Schwartzman

Florida (2): Garrett Thul, Tucker Durkin

Ohio (2): Marcus Holman, Kyle Harrison

Rochester (2): Kevin Leveille, David Lawson


Roster by position


Ned Crotty, New York Lizards, Duke*

Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina

Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts

Brendan Mundorf, Chesapeake Bayhawks, UMBC*

Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell

Garrett Thul, Florida Launch/Philadelphia Wings, Army



Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse

Kevin Buchanan, Boston Cannons, Ohio State

Dan Burns, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland

Kyle Harrison, Ohio Machine, Johns Hopkins^

David Lawson, Rochester Rattlers, Duke

Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins*

Max Seibald, New York Lizards/Philadelphia Wings, Cornell*


Mitch Belisle, Boston Cannons, Cornell

Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland

Tucker Durkin, Florida Launch, Johns Hopkins

Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins

Kyle Hartzell, New York Lizards, Salisbury

Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland


Drew Adams, New York Lizards, Penn State

Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws, Johns Hopkins


Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate

Greg Gurenlian, New York Lizards, Penn State


* 2010 U.S. men’s national team member
^ 2006 U.S. men’s national team member