navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

US Lacrosse Hosts Champion Challenge this Weekend

March 18, 2016
US Lacrosse hosts the ninth annual Champion Challenge this weekend, January 24-26, showcasing current NCAA champions, the U.S. Women’s National Team, and the prospective U.S. Men’s National Team. This is the last contest before head coach Richie Meade will announce the final roster for the Men’s Team USA, who will then go on to compete in the MLL All-Star Game in Boston, Mass., Thursday, June 26, and ultimately represent the United States at the 2014 World Lacrosse Championships in Denver, Colo., July 10-19.

This weekend in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., 49 players will suit up for a highly anticipated intra-squad scrimmage to help Coach Meade in the roster selection process. As opposed to matching such a large squad against a dominant NCAA team, the prospective U.S. Men’s Team will be split into a Team USA Blue squad and a Team USA White squad, and meet to battle for the National Team roster’s 23 spots on Sunday at 1:30 p.m.

47 out of the 49 players dressing are members of the MLL, not including New York Lizards’ draftee Joe Fletcher of Loyola University. New York and Chesapeake are the two most represented teams, both sending 10 players. Returning Lizards midfielders Ned Crotty, Max Seibald, and Matt Streibel all played in the victorious 2010 World Championship and Streibel is even fighting for his fourth trip on the final roster, having played not only in the 2010 games, but also in 2006 and 2002.

The reigning MLL Champion Bayhawks are sending returning World Champs attackman Drew Westervelt and midfielder Stephen Peyser as well as goalie Kip Turner among others.

All MLL teams will be present at the weekend tournament, including Boston Cannons’ LSM Kyle Sweeney, who has had two World Championship tours (2010, 2006) and midfielder Paul Rabil (2010), attackmen Garrett Thul (Florida), Ryan Young (Charlotte) and Steele Stanwick (Ohio) as well as Rochester goalkeeper John Galloway.

Current Cascade Rookie of the Year Rob Pannell (New York) tops an impressive list of 2013 rookies who will also vie for a spot on the 23-man roster. That list includes Eric Law (Denver), Dave Lawson (Boston), JoJo Marasco (New York) and Tucker Drukin (Florida)

Also at the games will be New York Lizards’ Devon Wills, tending goal for the U.S. Women’s National Team, set to play the University of Maryland Saturday at 5 p.m., and then the University of North Carolina the following morning at 11 a.m.

Sunday’s  Men’s and Women’s games will be aired live on and the men’s game will re-air that same night at 10 p.m. on ESPN U.

The full Blue and White rosters can be found below.

Team USA Blue      
No. Name Pos. Current Team College
1 Ned Crotty* A/M New York Lizards Duke
2 Eric Law A Denver Outlaws/Toronto Rock Denver
3 Ryan Young A Charlotte Hounds Maryland
4 Kevin Buchanan M Boston Cannons Ohio State
5 Matt Mackrides M Chesapeake Bayhawks Penn State
6 Mitch Belisle D Boston Cannons Cornell
7 Brendan Buckley D New York Lizards Army
8 Dan Burns SSDM Chesapeake Bayhawks Maryland
9 Kevin Drew SSDM Charlotte Hounds Syracuse
10 Brian Karalunas D New York Lizards Villanova
11 Chris Schiller* SSDM Charlotte Hounds Penn State
12 Lee Zink D Denver Outlaws Maryland
13 Drew Adams GK New York Lizards Penn State
30 Matt Danowski A Charlotte Hounds Duke
31 Drew Westervelt* A Chesapeake Bayhawks UMBC
32 Steven Brooks M Chesapeake Bayhawks Syracuse
33 Kyle Harrison* M LXM PRO Johns Hopkins
34 Ben Hunt M Chesapeake Bayhawks North Caroline
35 Max Seibald* M New York Lizards Cornell
36 Tucker Durkin D Florida Launch Johns Hopkins
37 Kevin Unterstein SSDM New York Lizards Hofstra
39 Mike Poppleton FO Florida Launch Johns Hopkins
40 Jesse Schwartzman GK Denver Outlaws Johns Hopkins
Team USA White      
No. Name Pos. Current Team College
3 Marcus Holman A Ohio Machine North Carolina
4 Kevin Leveille A Rochester Rattlers Massachusetts
5 Rob Pannell A New York Lizards Cornell
6 JoJo Marasco M New York Lizards Syracuse
7 Jeremy Sieverts M Denver Outlaws Maryland
8 Drew Snider M Denver Outlaws Maryland
9 Matt Striebel*^~ M New York Lizards Princeton
10 Jeff Reynolds SSDM Chesapeake Bayhawks Maryland
11 Brett Schmidt D Charlotte Hounds Maryland
12 Kyle Sweeny*^ LSM Boston Cannons Georgetown
30 Steele Stanwick A Ohio Machine Virginia
31 Garrett Thul A Florida Launch Army
32 David Lawson M Rochester Rattlers Duke
33 Paul Rabil* M Boston Cannons Johns Hopkins
34 Matt Abbott SSDM Chesapeake Bayhawks Syracuse
35 Michael Evans D Chesapeake Bayhawks Johns Hopkins
36 Brian Farell LSM New York Lizards Salisbury
37 Joe Fletcher D Loyola University Maryland  
38 Kyle Hartzell LSM New York Lizards Salisbury
39 Stephen Peyser SSDM Chesapeake Bayhawks Johns Hopkins
40 Chris Eck FO Boston Cannons Colgate
41 John Galloway GK Rochester Rattlers Syracuse
42 Kip Turner GK Chesapeake Bayhawks Virginia
47 Anthony Kelly FO Denver Outlaws Ohio State
Injured and Unable to Participate    
  Greg Burenlian FO New York Lizards Penn State
  Brendan Mundorf* A Chesapeake Bayhawks UMBC
  Jesse Bernhardt D Chesapeake Bayhawks Maryland
  * Member of the 2010 U.S. Men's National Team  
  ^ Member of the 2006 U.S. Men's National Team  
  ~ Member of the 2004 U.S. Men's National Team