navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

About MLL


During the summer of 1998, Jake “Body By Jake” Steinfeld was inspired to start a professional outdoor lacrosse league after reading a magazine article about the growth of the sport of lacrosse. Steinfeld sought out a contributor to the article, Owner and President of Warrior Lacrosse Dave Morrow, a leading lacrosse equipment manufacturer, to discuss formation of such a league.
In February 1999 Steinfeld and Morrow joined forces with Steinfeld’s friend and business associate Tim Robertson, Chairman of Bay Shore Enterprises and former CEO of the Family Channel, to form Major League Lacrosse, LLC, a Virginia limited liability company. In 2003, New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. came on board as a Founding Member of Major League Lacrosse, as well as an Anchor Level League Sponsor.
Major League Lacrosse began play in 2001 to capitalize on the growing demand for world-class field lacrosse driven by dramatic growth in the U.S. lacrosse market. The MLL was praised and heralded for its on-field play, regarded as the best ever seen. With a year-on-year attendance increase, Major League Lacrosse has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports.


MLL is comprised of nine teams across the US. The Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks (formerly Baltimore and Washington), New York Lizards (formally Long Island) and Dallas Rattlers (formerly Rochester) are original teams starting in 2001. The Denver Outlaws began play in 2006 as part of the League’s western expansion. The Charlotte Hounds and Ohio Machine began play in 2012 as a part of the League's expansion initiative to have 16 teams in the next decade. Continuing the expansion, the Florida Launch began play in 2014. The latest expansion team is the Atlanta Blaze, whose inaugural season was 2016.

Current teams include:

Atlanta Blaze                                                          Denver Outlaws
Boston Cannons                                                    Florida Launch
Charlotte Hounds                                                  New York Lizards
Chesapeake Bayhawks                                         Ohio Machine
Dallas Rattlers                                                     


Major League Lacrosse boasts the best 230 lacrosse players in the world, who also hail from some of the nation's top academic institutions. In contrast to other professional sports leagues, players are only eligible for the MLL Collegiate Draft after they have exhausted their four years of NCAA eligibility, giving MLL the highest graduation rate of any professional sport in North America.  

  • 2X MLL Coca-Cola MVP Tom Schreiber graduated from Princeton
  • All-time leader in single season points Rob Pannell graduated from Cornell
  • 2X MLL Coca-Cola MVP Paul Rabil graduated from Johns Hopkins
  • Brown alumnus Dylan Molloy was the first-overall pick in the 2017 MLL Collegiate Draft 


The 2018 MLL Regular Season begins on Saturday, April 21. Here are other key dates: 

  • May 10-13: Real Men Wear Pink Weekend
  • June 28: 2018 MLL All-Star Game
  • August 18: MLL Championship Game


Major League Lacrosse has implemented some innovative dynamics to the traditional game of field lacrosse that bring the sport into the next millennium. MLL rule changes include the addition of a two-point goal line located 16 yards from each goal and a 60-second shot clock.


New Balance, Warrior Lacrosse and Coca-Cola


Brine, Cascade, POWERADE, STX, StringKing, Body by Jake Global


A full range of integrated sponsorship packages are available. Partnerships can include league/team category exclusivity, special events rights, corporate branding on player uniforms, national TV commercial units and in-game TV features, field signage, web site banners, tickets/hospitality, game footage, photo usages, player appearances, customized activation, and cross-promotional programs. For more information contact John O'Leary at


Every MLL regular season game can be found on Lax Sports Network (LSN). For more information, please visit

The 2017 MLL All-Star Game and 2018 MLL Championship Game were broadcast nationally on CBS Sports Network.