navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

2017 MLL Championship Game Set for Frisco, TX

February 15, 2017
BOSTON (February 15, 2017) – Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier outdoor professional lacrosse league, announced today Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, TX will host the 2017 MLL Championship Game on Saturday, August 19. It will mark the first ever MLL Championship Game in the state of Texas.  

“We are extremely proud to announce a partnership with the city of Frisco and The Star,” MLL Commissioner David Gross said. “Ford Center is a premier venue that will be instrumental in showcasing our Championship Game this August and we look forward to growing the sport of lacrosse in Texas.”

Ford Center is a 12,000-seat indoor facility on the campus of The Star that hosts the Dallas Cowboys World Headquarters and serves as the team’s practice venue. It opened in August 2016 with a slate of local high school football games. The facility serves as a focal point to the sports and entertainment district that offers fans the ultimate experience with over 15 restaurants, the Dallas Cowboys ring of honor, an Omni Hotel and the Tostitos Championship Plaza.

“We’re beyond thrilled to host the 2017 Major League Lacrosse Championship Game at our state-of-the-art facility here at Ford Center at The Star,” said Dallas Cowboys Chief Operating Officer Stephen Jones. “With lacrosse being one of the fastest growing sports in North Texas, we’re looking forward to providing an incredible environment for all fans of MLL and the sport of lacrosse.”

This year’s MLL Championship Game will mark the second MLL game of any kind in the state of Texas, along with the 2015 MLL All-Star Game at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston. 

Each of the previous three MLL Championship Games was held in Kennesaw, GA at Fifth Third Bank Stadium. The Denver Outlaws won the Steinfeld Trophy last season with a 19-18 win over the Ohio Machine, for the franchise’s second ever league title. 

Tickets for the 2017 MLL Championship Game will go on sale to the public on Saturday, February 18. Also on this Saturday, Ford Center will host men’s and women’s college lacrosse games, as well as high school games, as part of the annual Patriot Cup tournament.