navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Team Spotlight: Chesapeake Bayhawks

March 18, 2016
Chesapeake Bayhawks

City: Annapolis, Maryland
Stadium: Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium
Head Coach: Brian Reese
Colors : Blue, Silver, Green, White
Mascot:  Hawk-Eye
Steinfeld Trophy Wins : 5

The Bayhawks are one of the original four Major League Lacrosse teams. The club experienced  three names changes before eventually deciding on the Chesapeake Bayhawks  after the team settled in Annapolis, MD in 2010. Dominating the league since its inception, the Bayhawks are the only club to have a winning record during their first five years. They have raised the Steinfeld Trophy five times and have reached the playoffs nine out of their 15 seasons in the league. Their last MLL Championship came in 2013 with a tight 10-9 victory over the Charlotte Hounds.

At the end of the 2015 season, Dave Cottle officially stepped down as head coach. During his tenure with the Bayhawks, he served as both an assistant and head coach and was part of two championship teams. He will remain with the Bayhawks as Team President and GM. Brian Reese will be taking over head coach responsibilities. Reese joined the Bayhawks in 2011 and has a proven track record for success with a resume that includes 2009 MLL Coach of the Year honors and four consecutive playoff berths with the Outlaws, in addition to multiple championship game appearances. Tom Marino will join the Bayhawks as an assistant coach. 

Staying busy in the off-season, the Bayhawks were involved in trades and key selections during the Supplemental and Collegiate Drafts to prepare for the upcoming season. Prior to the drafts, the Bayhawks traded midfielder Kevin Crowley to the Charlotte Hounds in exchange for their second round picks in both the Supplemental and Collegiate Drafts. The Bayhawks focused on adding depth to their midfield and defense with the 16 players selected in the Supplemental Draft. In the Collegiate Draft, the Bayhawks picked up six  players while also making a pre-draft trade for defenseman Dana Wilber. In February, the Bayhawks traded 2015 Maverick Goalie of the Year runner-up, Tyler Fiorito, and a 2017 seventh round supplemental draft pick to the Boston Cannons in exchange for a 2017 first round collegiate draft pick, midfielder Tyler German, attackman Ryan Young, and the rights to midfielder Greg Coholan from the University of Virginia.

The new Bayhawks roster will be anchored by attackman Matt Danowski, who led the team with 43 points last season, midfielder Joe Walters, second on the team with 37 points, and 2015 MLL All-Star defenseman Michael Evans.

Chesapeake opens their season against the newest MLL team, Atlanta Blaze, in Georgia on April 23 rd. The Bayhawks will host their home-opener against the Florida Launch on April 29 th. Season ticket memberships and single-game tickets are on sale now for the 2016 season! Visit or call (866)-994-2957 for more information.