Cannons Remain Unbeaten With 18-9 Victory

By: MLL Statistics and Information, March 18, 2016

Cannons Remain Unbeaten With 18-9 Victory

Final Stats (HTML)

BOSTON, Mass. - Led by three goals and two assists from attackman Ryan Boyle, the defending Major League Lacrosse champion Boston Cannons (3-0) remained undefeated by posting their third straight win, an 18-9 victory over the Hamilton Nationals (0-2) in front of 11,277 fans at Harvard Stadium on Saturday night.

The Cannons, who won their sixth straight regular season game, used a strong second half to pull away from the Nationals en route to the victory.

Afer the teams traded goals twice to open the game, the Cannons scored three straight goals to take a 5-2 lead with 12 seconds left in the first quarter. Boyle sparked the run with a goal and an assist.

Midfielders Kevin Crowley and Jeremy Thompson scored back-to-back goals to narrow the deficit to 5-4 before the Cannons scored five of the next six goals for a 10-5 advantage with 8:52 left in the third quarter.

But, the Nationals answered by scoring three of the next four goals to trim the deficit to 11-8 with 1:10 left in the period on a Thompson goal.

However, the Cannons put the game out of reach by scoring seven of the final eight goals to hand the Nationals their second straight loss. 

While Boyle led the Cannons with his five-point performance, midfielder Mike Stone added three goals and an assist for the Cannons, who have averaged nearly 18 goals per game in their first three games this year.

Crowley, who made his season debut on Saturday, led the Nationals with a three-goal effort. Thompson added two goals while defenseman Brodie Merrill had a goal with an assist.

2012 MLL All-Star Game presented by Moe's Southwest Grill

MLL will host its marquee event in Palm Beach County, FL this year on Saturday, June 30 at 7:30 p.m. To buy your tickets now,  click here. To learn more about the 2012 MLL All-Star Game presented by Moe's Southwest Grill,  click here. The 2012 MLL All-Star Game will feature the best lacrosse players in the world, all on one field and will be aired live on ESPN2 and ESPN3.